Maqluba, hummus, falafel, baba ghanoush, baklava…

Yum. My professors rock, that’s all I have to say.

So last night being our final exam block for my Theories & Methods of Nonviolence class, our professors had us over to one of their homes to hand in our final papers and enjoy some fine home cooking. The professor whose home it was, was born in Palestine, so the food was mostly of that Mediterranean variety. It was all so delicious and it was a really cute night. And I took pictures this time because the food was just presented so wonderfully and tasted so great.

This is maqluba. It is basically a rice casserole and in this picture it is the one with chicken and cauliflower I believe. But the vegetarian one that I ate had eggplant and tomato. It was divine. And they flip it over so it’s like one of those upside-down pineapple cakes, only, it’s a casserole.

Salad.

HOMEMADE hummus and baba ghanoush. Which tastes infinitely better than out of a tub at the grocery store and now that I have a food processor and more time on my hands I can’t wait to make my own.

Falafel! I’ve only had falafel once before this, in Brisbane. It’s really popular in Australia for whatever reason…and my professor’s was awesome.

SO much good food.

PISTACHIO BAKLAVA. ‘Nuff said.

Oh, I also tried Arabic coffee. Not a fan. It’s really thick and gritty-like! Anyone ever tried it?

I think the best part of the meal is that it was so made-with-love tasting. It felt like being home for a holiday or something, and not just because we were out in Suburbia (which was totally weird, to see a vast backyard and homes so far apart from each other…) but because he and his wife cooked it all for us. They even set out ziploc bags after and made us take as much as we could home for leftovers. How awesome is that?

I went into this class knowing next to nothing about international relations and conflict resolution and all of that, but I still found it to be really interesting. It was way over my head in terms of being able to contribute to class discussion in a room full of many people who have actually been to the countries and seen things first-hand. But, I did get to learn a lot of new stuff and it was good to be out of my element.

All in all, if you’re an AU student and looking for an elective to take, I’d go for this class. Plus, there’s an awesome dinner at the end. =)

4 responses to this post.

  1. What a fabulous spread! So nice of your professor to treat you.

    Reply

  2. Ahhh the food sounds awesome but the coffee does not! haha I noticed in Europe that coffee seems thicker…well maybe not thicker but more like french press coffee [even if it wasn’t out a french press]. Maybe just more flavorful? I noticed this in both Ireland and Italy…it was SO much better!! However, thick + gritty coffee does not sound good 😉 I’m sure it’s just one of those things that if you were brought up on it you love it. Have a great weekend!

    Reply

  3. Ohh my goodness I LOVE Mediterranean food! Homemade hummus? And pistachio baklava?! I wish my professors did stuff like this!

    Reply

  4. so awesome!! i wish there would be food when i hand in my finals papers in the next 2 weeks, but sadly there will not be, lol. i LOVE falafel, i had some in a wrap tonight! when i took arabic we had a class party and everyone brought super authentic middle eastern food, twas delish!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

