More exciting news: Farmer’s Festival

Talk about full circle moments…it’s a major award!

About 8 months ago, I started on my visual strategies in public relations project with the desire to choose a client/event/organization that was focused on sustainable agriculture. At first I was going to design marketing materials for the Green Festival but then decided that I had ideas in my head that the Green Festival just didn’t really incorporate. My professor, Debra Witt, suggested I create my own concept, which would be a bit more work, but could be a lot more interesting in the end.

I had an idea of a huge festival-like event on the National Mall where people could gather, meet farmers, get information from them, see how to milk a cow, learn about how crops are grown, learn about what CSA’s are available to them, and what affordable options were there and most of all—learn the names of farmers—find a farmer that could be their food producer and get to know them. I kept the name simple, the Farmer’s Festival, and let my thoughts unfold around a design that I wanted to keep whimsical, colorful, kid-friendly, but informative.

I know it’s not the best and even now I look at it and see things I would tweak, and have thought about working on it more to make it a few more pages, or even just one more so that the back cover just has contact information (now the back cover has a lot of text–but the assignment was an 8 page brochure so I worked within those limits…)

WordPress doesn’t let me embed, but the brochure is on Issuu here if you’re interested.

Anyhow, I found out today it won for best visual strategy in my school‘s Public Communication competition. I am seriously shocked because I know how amazing a lot of my classmates’ work was and I’ll be seriously honored to accept it.

… And I’m off to see Lester Brown’s talk!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Beautiful! Very engaging piece…love it. (Communications is my world.) Your passion shines through, and that’s so important. Congratulations on the award. I’m sure it’s well-deserved.

    Reply

    • thank you for the kind words =] I think my professor said the same also about my passion shining through, not sure what exactly conveys that. but if you felt so too, perhaps it is so.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Susan on April 23, 2010 at 9:02 AM

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY KELLY!! Hope you have a fun day…..and happy cooking,
    I know you’ll love your gift. Congrats on your award, good job. Very proud
    of you!! love, Mum

    Reply

Leave a Reply

