An ode to water and a call to action

Reporter: “Water is awesome. Do you know how I know? Because I’m 70 percent water, and I am awesome.”

(Recent quote on one of my favorite sites ever, Overheard in the Newsroom.)

Food and water, they go hand in hand. Basically all food is made up of a huge percentage of water. Water sustains us. You can survive for weeks without eating (theoretically—I mean, I can’t survive until noon without eating). But after just a couple days without water, your body will start to go into some serious shock. In fact, the other day at The Eagle office, the water wasn’t working in the building at all (no idea why), and not only was I super de-hydrated, I felt like my rights as an individual were being taken away!

Unfortunately, water has also been exploited over the past 50 or so years. I am talking about the bottled water industry and the privatization of water. As is customary with the human race, we have managed to take a basic, simple resource and life sustainer and found a way to make a profit at the expense of the environment and our health.

So today I am asking you to do a few things:

  1. If you haven’t already, pledge to give up bottled water. Just, do it. I’m not even going to go into details here because chances are you know all the reasons why bottled water is the devil. Check out Janine’s post on all the reasons you’re a freaking idiot if you are still purchasing bottled water. And check this out for tips on choosing a water filter. If you live in a city with not-so-great water, as I do, it’s helpful. I use a Brita but there’s plenty of other options.
  2. Once you do that, go on Facebook and make this your profile picture…and then go here and find out more about World Water Day on March 22nd. 
  3. Mosey over to Diana’s site and participate in Project Hydrate and pledge to drink more water—from the tap, of course. 😉
  4. Educate yourself on how private control of water hurts consumers and helps no one except giant corporations.
  5. Tell a friend, link back to this, or post something on your blog about the upcoming World Water Day.

Do you still drink bottled water? Be honest. If so, why? Let’s get to the bottom of this!

Happy drinking from the tap!

12 responses to this post.

  1. My water canteen and I are attached at the hip! BFF

    Reply

  2. Yes! Nice work Foodie!

    Reply

  3. Nice post girl!! I definitely don’t buy cases of bottled water and we take our BPA free nalgenes everywhere. Once in awhile I’m caught in a pinch and have to break down and buy a bottle…but it’s extremely infrequent! The water in Denver is actually pretty good…we’re not using a filter at all right now. I have a problem with Brita’s too because of that filter you have to throw away every few months. That thing CANNOT be good for the environment. I wonder what the most eco-friendly option is? Happy weekend!

    Reply

    • Definitely a great point! We use a Brita filter in my apartment, but I think the best option is usually a filter installed into your tap in the sink. Which is what that link I posted talks about. But I think even the filters are worth it and a better option than buying all those bottles that had to be shipped in from who knows how far away. And I wish I could just drink straight from the tap. I do sometimes, if I am at the gym and refilling from the water bubbler, but apparently the water here in DC just needs to be filtered, plus I can’t stand the chlorine taste. :-/

      You have a great weekend too!

      Reply

  4. I confess that on certain occasions, I do still drink bottled water (most of the time I have my reusable bottle with me,but for long road trips and stuff, I stock up on bottle in bulk!)

    Reply

    • Thank you for being honest! Sometimes it is tough in certain situations like that. But! Maybe next time you can try to find a way around it. Like bring a Brita pitcher that you can fill up at a rest stop and then fill up a few water bottles to keep in the car. it’s a safer alternative because especially if you’re driving in the summer time, that bottled water really shouldnt be drank once it’s been hanging out in the sun/hot car!

      =)

      Reply

  5. Lovely post! Water for the win! haha

    No, I don’t drink bottled water.. I love my filter and my pink water bottle! 🙂 It is cheap and it does not take up space in the fridge, is better for the environment… But I can see how sometimes you have to… like on ariports. They do not allow you to bring any water and getting it from the bathroom just seems gross. 😦

    Reply

  6. Oh, I forgot to say. I kinda hate the water situation in the US. In Switzerland the water that comes out of the tap is perfect. I hated how all the water in restaurants always taste like chlorine… and the shower water. It really bothers me. I hope I will find a solution.

    Reply

  7. […] doppelganger was, you have time to do this. I’ve also showed the water love on my personal blog (have a blog? Perfect! Rep the tap!), plastered the “Take Back the Tap” message on my […]

    Reply

  8. Thanks for the link-love sweetie! 🙂 Great post!

    Reply

  9. […] You can sign the petition here. Check out the film here. I additionally suggest you check out Kelly’s post on H2O […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

